Photo by Tupungato

Superhero icons and Star Wars actors among honorees for Hollywood Walk of Fame’s Class of 2022

2 mins read

The ever-growing sidewalk of stars on the Hollywood Walk of Fame is receiving nearly 40 more honorees for the Class of 2022. The entertainers to be honored on the Hollywood Boulevard of dreams include figures from the industries of film, televising, recording, radio, live theater or live performance, and sports entertainment. 

Among the nominations, Carrie Fisher is one of the two posthumous honorees. Her star monument will immortalize her legacy and celebrate her place in film history with the role of Princess Leia in the Star Wars universe. The late actress’s co-star, Mark Hamill, celebrated her memory on Twitter saying: “Her star will blaze from here to eternity.” Fisher passed away on December 27, 2016, and the rule is a five-year wait for the Hollywood Walk of Fame when awarding posthumously. 

The honorees for the Hollywood Walk of Fame are chosen by the Hollywood Chamber of Commerce’s Walk of Fame selection panel which includes past honorees. There are over 2,500 stars on the 15 blocks of Hollywood Boulevard and three blocks of Vine Street in Hollywood, California. The self-financing Hollywood Historic Trust maintains the popular tourist destination, which attracts an estimated 10 million annual visitors. An average of 200 nominations are submitted to the selection committee every year. 

Among the honorees, Jason Momoa (Arthur Curry/Aquaman in “Aquaman”) is being honored with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame, as well as Willem Dafoe (Aquaman), Michael B. Jordan (Killmonger in “Black Panther”), Tessa Thompson (Valkyrie in “Thor” franchise), Regina King (Angela Abar in the HBO “Watchmen” series), Ewan McGregor (Obi-Wan Kenobi in “Star Wars” franchise), Ming-Na Wen (Fennec Shand in “The Mandalorian” series), Greg Berlanti (producer of CWverse shows), and other figures in the entertainment industry. 

Jason Momoa announced on Instagram about finding out that he will be in the Hollywood Walk of Fame and expressed his surprise of being recognized in the same class as such names as Francis Ford Coppola, Selma Hayak, and Ewan McGregor. He shared his gratitude while having his hair styled in the video message.

The full list of the Class of 2022 Honorees for the Hollywood Walk of Fame are below. 

For the film category:

  • Francis Ford Coppola
  • Macaulay Culkin
  • Willem Dafoe
  • Salma Hayek
  • James Hong
  • Helen Hunt
  • Michael B. Jordan
  • Regina King
  • Ray Liotta
  • Ewan McGregor
  • Adam McKay
  • Jason Momoa
  • Tessa Thompson
  • Carrie Fisher (posthumous)

For the television category:

  • Byron Allen
  • Greg Berlanti
  • Ricky Gervais
  • Peter Krause
  • Bob Odenkirk
  • Holly Robinson-Peete
  • Norman Reedus
  • Tracee Ellis Ross
  • Jean Smart
  • Ming-Na Wen
  • Kenan Thompson

For the recording category:

  • Black Eyed Peas
  • George Clinton
  • Ashanti Douglas
  • DJ Khaled
  • Avril Lavigne
  • Los Huracanes del Norte
  • Martha Reeves
  • Ermias “Nipsey Hussle” Asghedom (posthumous)

From the radio category:

  • Richard Blade

From the live theater/live performance category:

  • Patti LuPone
  • Marilyn McCoo & Billy Davis Jr.
  • Angelica Vale

From sports entertainment category:

  • Michael Strahan

The induction ceremonies for the entertainers to receive their star has yet to be announced. The honorees have two years to schedule the ceremony before the nomination expires. As of 2020, a $50,000 fee is collected for each honoree to cover the installation and maintenance of the star on the Walk of Fame. The fee is usually paid by the nominating organization on behalf of the entertainer, which may be a fan club or other sponsor involved with the prospective honoree. 

Clark Kent

Clark Kent came to the city of Metropolis to study journalism at Metropolis University. After graduation, Clark took a job at the Daily Planet as a reporter. Under the direction of editor-in-chief Perry White, he quickly gained a reputation as a journalist who was unafraid to cover the injustices of the city, including its political corruption .

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Previous Story

Arrowverse creator Greg Berlanti joins the Hollywood Walk of Fame’s Class of 2022

Next Story

Supergirl’s Kryptonian text explained

Latest from Entertainment