Hannah Waddingham and Juno Temple as Rebecca and Keeley on "Ted Lasso."

‘Ted Lasso’ wins four Emmys

2 mins read

Goooaaalll! Warner Bros. Television’s “Ted Lasso” once again took top honors at the 74th Emmy Awards, with the global hit comedy winning four Emmys tonight, including Outstanding Comedy Series for the second year in a row.

WBTV’s “Abbott Elementary” made the grade with three Emmys total, including Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series for creator/star Quinta Brunson and Outstanding Supporting Actress for Sheryl Lee Ralph this evening.

Topline highlights include:

  • “Ted Lasso” means (repeat) business. For the second year in a row, “Ted Lasso” scored the Emmy for Outstanding Comedy Series, Jason Sudeikis won once again for Lead Actor in a Comedy Series, and Brett Goldstein again took home the trophy for Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series. And MJ Delaney won her first Emmy for Directing. 
  • With her win for Writing for a Comedy Series, “Abbott Elementary’s” Quinta Brunson becomes only the second Black woman in television history to be honored in this category, after Lena Waithe in 2017 for “Master of None.”
  • And with her win for Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series, “Abbott Elementary’s” Sheryl Lee Ralph received her first Emmy in her distinguished 45-year career. Sheryl becomes only the second Black woman in television history to be honored in this category and the first in 35 years, since Jackée Harry in 1987 for 227.

“We are thrilled for the ‘Ted Lasso’ team on their richly deserved Emmy wins, including Outstanding Comedy Series,” Warner Bros. Television Group Chairman Channing Dungey said. “Through their brilliant storytelling, they continue to entertain and inspire viewers all over the world. ‘Ted Lasso’ is a special show, and we are so incredibly fortunate to be a part of making the world ‘Believe.’”

“And we are also incredibly excited for Quinta Brunson, winner for comedy writing tonight,” Dungey continued “With ‘Abbott Elementary,’ Quinta shines a spotlight on a group of everyday heroes working at a public school, while never missing a single comedic beat. And last but certainly not least, what can you say about the incomparable Sheryl Lee Ralph?! I am overjoyed that the Television Academy has recognized Sheryl with her first Emmy Award tonight. Her portrayal of Barbara Howard in Abbott Elementary was an instant classic in a career full of indelible performances. We are so thankful that she is part of the incredible Abbott Elementary ensemble, and we look forward to going back to school with them next week.”

Following is a complete list of Warner Bros. Television Group winners at the 2022 Emmy Awards:

‘Ted Lasso’ (WBTV for Apple TV+): 4 Wins

  • Outstanding Comedy Series
  • Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series: Jason Sudeikis
  • Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series: Brett Goldstein
  • Outstanding Directing for a Comedy Series: MJ Delaney

‘Abbott Elementary’ (WBTV and 20th Television for ABC): 3 Wins

  • Outstanding Writing for a Comedy Series: Quinta Brunson
  • Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series: Sheryl Lee Ralph
  • Outstanding Casting for a Comedy Series

‘The Voice’ (Warner Bros. Unscripted Television for NBC): 1 Win

  • Outstanding Lighting Design/Lighting Direction for a Variety Series

Cat Grant

Catherine (Cat) Grant was a business-savvy media mogul who got her start working as a gossip columnist for the Daily Planet. Cat later became a gossip blogger and eventually the CEO of her own company, CatCo Worldwide Media, a multimedia entertainment and news conglomerate based out of National City. Years after her departure from CatCo, Cat has decided to take a cathartic journey back to her roots. Welcome back to Cat’s Corner.

Leave a Reply

Previous Story

New details about Disney 100 Years of Wonder revealed to fans during D23 Expo

Next Story

Tom Welling and Michael Rosenbaum revisit ‘Shimmer’ on latest Talk Ville episode

Latest from Entertainment